Jump to content

Jake Bullit – Pain Killer Video

Jake Bullit have premiered their idiosyncratic debut video for ‘Pain Killer’, taken from their debut EP of the same name, which will be released on October 6th.

Inspired by Bob Godfrey’s self-consciously wonky aesthetic, the video to ‘Pain Killer’ was made by lead singer and co-producer Jake, who taught himself the art of animation to make it. Original sketches – and photos taken from the top of a bus – were painstakingly pieced together, telling the simple story of a plug in pursuit of a socket. Describing the process, Jake says “whilst we didn’t necessarily have a set stylistic idea when we started, we wanted something that might end up having a fun, DIY charm to it. We did it in 4:3 so it would look better on our Nan’s telly”.

Alex G – Hollow, Rough Trade, Manchester


We’re thrilled to present ‘Hollow’, the first full single to be lifted from the forthcoming new album DSU from Alex G.

Though only 21 years of age, and still a student at Philadelphia’s Temple University, DSU is Alex G’s fifth album. All recorded at home, almost exclusively solo, and, until recently, all self-released and available only via Bandcamp.

With vibrant, yet distorted, atmospherics and echoing vocals that emphasize the despair in the lyrics; ‘Hollow’ highlights just how powerful young Giannascoli’s songwriting already is, and just why he’s been picked up by Domino Music’s publishing division. It doesn’t take long before you find yourself singing along to the track’s anthemic chorus; “don’t take a trip, don’t let me down, I know, I’m hollow”.

Alongside the previously announced debut London headline show at the Sebright Arms on Wednesday 19 November, we are also pleased to announce that Alex G will be playing a free in-store at Rough Trade East on Monday 17 November as well as opening for Ought at Manchester Sound Control on Tuesday 18 November.

DSU is due, on all formats, on 10 November. Pre-order here:

Physical – http://smarturl.it/dsu-p
Digital – http://smarturl.it/dsu-d

Deers – Barn

Very happy to announce that we will be releasing Deers second single ‘Barn’ on November 3rd, featuring the tracks ‘Castigadas En El Granero’, which loosely translates as ‘grounded in the barn’, and ‘Between Cans’.  ’Castigadas En El Granero’ premiered today on Gorilla vs Bear who said it “further highlights their seemingly effortless knack for crafting charming, infectiously ramshackle (but always deceptively tight) garage pop jams”.

Limited to just 500 copies worldwide the vinyl can be pre-ordered hereour friends at Mom+Pop will be releasing in the US.

Deers are from Madrid, were last week described “as Europe’s most exciting new band” by the NME, and are Ana Garcia Perrote, Carlotta Cosials,  Ade Martin and Amber Grimbergen.  

Jake Bullit – Pain Killer

Jake Bullit will release their debut EP, ‘Pain Killer’,  on October 6th.

Jake Bullit are brothers and producers Jacob and Oscar Brady, cousin Christie and best friend Tom, from Birmingham.

Arriving, fully formed, as if from the hedonistic sounds of Paris or New York, Jake Bullit feel inspired by the disco and boogie grooves of Chromeo, the idiosyncratic pop of Hot Chip, and the everyday urban mundanities of Blur circa ‘Girls & Boys’. It’s a deft and dancefloor-friendly mix, marrying the boys’ upbringing in Birmingham’s DJ’ing scene with the songwriting efficiency of a band who’ve already won an impasssioned live following.

With their remixes for the likes of MSTRKRT, Friends and Sebastien Tellier having already picked up support across Radio 1 and Hype Machine, an early Jake Bullit track (‘Moonshine’) was also previewed on international gurus Kitsuné’s ‘Maison 15’ compilation last year. The band will announce further EP, remix and live plans shortly.

Alex G – DSU


At Lucky Number, we’re incredibly excited to present DSUthe astonishing album from Philadelphia-based songwriter Alex Giannascoli, more commonly known under his shorthand alias of Alex G.

Though only 21 years of age, and a student at Philadelphia’s Temple University, DSU is Giannascoli’s fifth album – all recorded at home, almost exclusively solo, and, until recently, all self-released and available only via Bandcamp. The volume of his work online, combined with its vitality, has helped to thoroughly cultivate a fervent cult fan base, resulting in two sell out US-only pressings of DSU via the esteemed Brooklyn bedroom label Orchid Tapes.

Reckoned by the Quietus to have “the potential to be one of the defining American indie records”DSU is a collection that firmly establishes Giannascoli as wise beyond his years, with his lyrics bearing a world-weary authority. He’s an outsider in a scene of outsiders, determined to succeed on his own artistic terms. As the furore for him grows internationally it’s ever-increasingly evident that, as the 405 write, “the most magical thing about Alex G is that everyone who comes into contact with him seems to fall in love.”

DSU is due, on all formats, on 10 November. Pre-order here:
Limited Heavyweight Vinyl with Free CD and bonus tracks
iTunes (w/bonus tracks)

Alex G plays his debut London show at the Sebright Arms on November 19th. Buy Tickets.

Further Praise for DSU

“Music so immensely personal, it’s hard to believe you’re even capable of comprehending the majority of what you’re hearing.” CMJ 
“DSU is a homespun gem from virtually out of nowhere” Consequence of Sound
“Idiosyncratic sketches each capable of wending its way to a distinct place into the hearts of anyone” Pitchfork
“The Internet’s Secret Best Songwriter” FADER

Eyedress – My Hologram Video

Eyedress today premiered his self-animated hyper-reality video for My Hologram (Nothing Special) with Dazed.   

Deers – Trippy Gum Video

Deers today premiered their new video for Trippy Gum with Gorilla vs Bear.   ‘Trippy Gum’ is the flip side to ‘Bamboo’ from their debut AA-side single, ‘Demo’ which is physically available from today.

They are returning to the UK to play Corsica Studios, London, on September 2nd and Bleach, Brighton, on September 3rd.

Get Hot – Drugs

Get Hot, the brand new collaborative project between established electronic producers FTSE and Jakwob, today premiered ‘Drugs’ the AA side of their debut 7″ single with DIY.  The 7″ is available to buy here in all it’s fluorescent magnificence.

Christian Rich – A1 feat Rye Rye

Christian Rich, AKA DJ and production duo and twin brothers Taiwo and Kehinde Hassan, today share ‘A1′, the second track to be lifted from ‘SS14’ their debut EP.

‘A1’ bangs pure attitude, featuring M.I.A. cohort, Rye Rye, ebbing as much as she flows on top of translucent tropical electro-sleaze.

‘SS14’ is to be released as a limited 12” Vinyl on July 21st, 2014 but is digitally available from today, July 7th, 2014.

Deers – Bamboo Video

Deers today premiered their self-directed video for Bamboo with FADER. They have also announced a new London show at Corsica Studios on Tuesday September 2nd.